Tay Mills

  • 7 miles south of Stanley, on South Tay River.
  • Post Office 1862-1914.


  • A group of Scottish settlers bound for Stanley could not find land there, so instead settled Harvey.
  • Established in 1837 by Andrew Inches of Scotland and named after Sir John Harvey, Lieut. Gov. of NB 1837-1841.

Campbell Settlement

  • 10 mi. southwest of Millville. Settled in 1835.
  • Post Office circa 1885-1919, D.K. Campbell, first postmaster.
  • Named for Sir Archibald Campbell (1769-1843), Lieut. Governor of New Brunswick 1831-1837.

Charlie Lake

  • 5 miles east of Canterbury.
  • Named for Charlie Fleming, said to have been a pirate who later lived as a hermit.
  • Possibly the same Charles Fleming, Loyalist of 1st Battalion, New Jersey Volunteers who asked for a grant on Nashwaaksis Stream.


  • Named after John and Thomas Cockburn from Scotland in 1837.


  • 4 miles west of Stanley.
  • Post Office 1905-1923. Asa L. Currie, first postmaster.
  • William and John Currie, first settlers in 1800s.

Douglas Parish

  • Established in 1824.
  • Named for Sir Howard Douglas (1776-1861), Lieut. Gov. of New Brunswick 1823-1832.

Dumfries Parish

  • Established in 1833.
  • Named for Dumfries, Scotland, said to be the home of Adam Allen who settled at the mouth of Pokiok Stream.

Dunbar Stream

  • Flows southeast into Nashwaak River.
  • Named for George Dunbar, Loyalist who received a grant in 1783.
  • In Maliseet Kulloosisik, ‘eagle’s nest’, said to have been built on a high rock near its mouth.


  • Many people of Scottish descent settled in Fredericton in the early days.
  • The first Mayor of Fredericton was John Simpson (born in Scotland).
  • UNB’s first president, James somerville, was from Scotland.
  • The Fredericton Society of St. Andrew was founded in 1825.
  • A Robert Burns statue was first raised in Fredericton in 1906