Scotch Lake

  • 16 miles west of Fredericton. Post Office circa 1885-1915.
  • Settled 1820 by immigrants from Roxburgh and Dumfries, Scotland.
  • In 1820 the lake had a Maliseet name meaning ‘partridge’.

Scotch Settlement

  • 13 miles west of Fredericton and 3 miles northeast of Scotch Lake.
  • Post Office Mactaquack 1849-1904; Post Office Christies 1904-1916, George P. Christie, postmaster.

Scott Siding

  • 4 miles northwest of Canterbury. Post Office 1909-1950.
  • George and Hezekiah Scott had land grants nearby.

South Tweedside

  • 14 miles east of McAdam. Post Office 1909-1914.


  • Settlers from the failed settlement of Scottish Settlement (1835), 6 miles south of Stanley, moved to Stanley after the first winter.

Tay Creek

  • 5 miles southwest of Stanley, at North Tay River.
  • Post Office Tay Settlement 1862-1918.

Tay Falls

  • 4 miles south of Stanley on Tay River. Post Office 1905-1914.
  • Formerly called Scotch Glen.

Tay Mills

  • 7 miles south of Stanley, on South Tay River.
  • Post Office 1862-1914.

Tay River

  • Flows southeast into Nashwaak River.
  • Named by Jacobina Drummond Campbell, wife of Dugald Campbell, for River Tay in Scotland.

Lake George

  • 19 miles southwest of Fredericton.
  • Post Office circa 1885-1914.
  • Formerly named Scotch Settlement, named by George McGeorge.
  • Includes Donnelly Settlement named for John and Patrick Donnelly, land grantees there.