Minister’s Island

  • 2 miles north of St. Andrews.
  • Named for Samuel Andrews (circa 1736-1818), a St. Andrews minister who lived on the island after 1791.
  • Formerly called Chamcook Island.
  • Commonly called Van Horne’s Island for Sir William Cornelius Van Horne (1843-1915) first president of Canadian Pacific 1888-1899.
  • Named Covenhoven by Sir William Van Horne, after 1890, for his father’s middle name.